University of Otago


General Information

Established in 1869, Otago was New Zealand’s first university and after 150 years we are still leading the way when it comes to world-class teaching and the best student lifestyle. The University has more than 70 academic departments and other academic units organised into four divisions – Humanities, Sciences, Commerce (Business) and Health Sciences – offering about 180 different qualifications in a wide range of subject areas. Our lecturers are academics who are dedicated to teaching and internationally recognised for their research. This world-class teaching goes hand-in-hand with fantastic support services, state-of-the-art lecture theatres, research laboratories, libraries and recreational facilities and, of course, the legendary Otago student lifestyle. Our 20,000 students make up one fifth of Dunedin’s population, creating an energy and atmosphere that you will only find at Otago. We have a reputation for producing top-quality graduates – a degree from Otago opens doors around the world. And it’s not just your education that travels with you. You’ll also make friends for life and gain the skills you’ll need for an exciting future. You’ll never regret choosing the quality all-round experience that only Otago can offer.

Key Contact

Sophie Ehlers